

American Postal Workers Union, AFL-CIO

1300 L Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005

May 28, 1999

Moe Biller, President (202) 842-4246

Ms. Naomi Goldstein USPS Commission on a Safe and Secure Workplace 1280 Maryland Ave, SW Washington, D.C. 20024

Dear Ms. Goldstein:

This is in response to your letter of May 25, 1999 requesting the union's review of the questionnaire to be submitted to 20,000 postal employees, supervisors and managers. We appreciate your submitting a copy of the survey for our review and response.

The official policy of the American Postal Workers Union is to oppose all surveys and involvement of bargaining unit employees for the purpose of soliciting information to arrive at conclusions to be acted upon. As the collective bargaining agent of postal employees, the union is the official voice of the employees represented. We would be pleased to provide responses to the questions raised in the survey but our responses should be dispositive of the inquiry.

Under the very best of circumstances, when surveys of employees are conducted, the purpose is to arrive at a conclusion. Local union meetings and our democratic election process are the forums in which represented employees express their views in support of or in opposition to those officers who speak on their behalf. Interim efforts by organizations outside the union are counterproductive and serve little purpose except to discredit the responses by union officials.

I do not believe that your effort is intended to undercut the authority and opportunity of union officials to represent the bargaining unit, but the consequences of this activity will undoubtedly achieve that end. If you seek specific responses to the questions raised, we would be pleased to provide them with the understanding that our responses are reflective of the employees represented.

Sincerely,

Moe Biller President

National Executive Board Moe Biller President

William Burrus Executive Vice President

Robert L. Turistall Secretary-Treasurer

Greg Bell Industrial Relations Director

C. J. "Cliff" Guffey Director, Clerk Division

James W. Lingberg Director, Maintenance Division

Robert C. Pritchard Director, MVS Division

Regional Coordinators Leo F. Persails Central Region

Jim Burke Eastern Region

Elizabeth "Liz" Powell Northeast Region

Terry Stapleton Southern Region

Ravdell R. Moore Western Region

> MB:hfa opeiu #2/afl-cio